The Common Admission Test (CAT) is A Computer Based Test Held In India. The Test Scores A Candidate On The Bases Of Quantitative Ability (QA)Verbal Ability (VA) And Reading Comprehension (RC), Data Interpretation (DI) and Logical Reasoning (LR). The Indian Institutes Of MAnagement (IIMs) Started This Exam And Use The Test For Selecting Students For Their Business Administration Programs. The Test Is Conducted Every Year By One Of The IIMs Based On A Policy Of Rotation.

The Candidate Must Satisfy The Below Specified Criteria's:
1. Hold A Bachelor’s Degree, With No Less Than 50% Or Equal CGPA (45% If There Should Arise An Occurrence Of The Aspirants Having A Place With Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribe (ST) And Persons With Disability (PWD)/Differently Able (DA) Classification)
2. The Degree Should Be Granted By Any Of The Universities Consolidated By An Act Of The Central Or State Statutory Body In India Or Other Instructive Organizations Built Up By An Act Of Parliament Or Pronounced To Be Considered As A University Under Section 3 Of The UGC Act, 1956, Or Possess An Equivalent Qualification Recognized By The Ministry Of HRD, Government Of India.
3. Competitors Appearing For The Final Year Of Bachelor’s Degree/equivalent Qualification Examination And The Individuals Who Have Finished Degree Prerequisites And Are Anticipating Results Can Likewise Apply. If Selected, Such Applicants Will Be Permitted To Join The Program Temporarily, Only If She/he Presents A Certificate Most Recent By June 30, 2017 From The Principal/Registrar Of Her/his College/Institute (issued At The Latest June 30, 2017) Expressing That The Competitor Has Finished Every One Of The Prerequisites For Acquiring The Four Year College Education/identical Capability On The Date Of The Issue Of The Certificate.

The Common Admission Test (CAT), Like Virtually All Large-scale Exams, Utilises Multiple Forms, Or Versions, Of The Test. Hence There Are Two Types Of Scores Involved: A Raw Score And A Scaled Score.

The Raw Score Is Calculated For Each Section Based On The Number Of Questions One Answered Correctly, Incorrectly, Or Left Unattempted. Candidates Are Given +3 Points For Each Correct Answer And -1 Point For Each Incorrect Answer. No Points Are Given For Questions That Are Not Answered. The Raw Scores Are Then Adjusted Through A Process Called Equating. Equated Raw Scores Are Then Placed On A Common Scale Or Metric To Ensure Appropriate Interpretation Of The Scores. This Process Is Called Scaling.

Since Last Two Years, The Structure Of The Test Has Undergone A Few Changes. CAT Is A Computer Based Test Which Consists Of 100 Objective Type Questions.

There Are 3 Sections In The Test:

  • Verbal And Reading Comprehension (VARC)
  • Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning (DI & LR)
  • Quantitative Ability (QA)

The Quantitative Ability And Verbal& Reading Comprehension Sections Consist Of 34 Questions Each, Whereas The Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning Section Has 32 Questions. Along With The Objective Type Questions, There Are Some Non-multiple Choice Questions In Each Section. Candidates Have To Answer In The Space Provided To Them.

The Total Duration Of The Test Is 180 Minutes Or 3 Hours. However, Each Section Of The Test Has A Time Limit Of 1 Hour Each. The Test Takers Cannot Switch Between The Sections And Have To Attend The Test In A Particular Order. The Order Of The Sections Is-

  • VARC
  • DI & LR, And
  • QA

As Per The Marking Scheme, Each Question Carries 3 Marks And There Is Negative Marking Of 1 Mark For Each Wrong Answer. There Is No Negative Marking For The Non-multiple Choice Questions.

Four Scaled Scores Will Be Presented For Each Candidate: An Overall Scaled Score And Three Separate Scaled Scores For Each Section. As The Three Sections Evaluate Distinct Sets Of Knowledge And Skills, Scores Do Not Correlate Across Sections. A High Score In One Section Does Not Guarantee A High Score In Another Section. Percentile Rankings Are Provided For Each Individual Section As Well As For The Overall Exam Score.